## Regular Meeting Minutes School District #39

**April 19, 2010** 

The Wahoo Board of Education met in regular session on Monday evening, April 19, 2010 at 6.00 p.m. in the High School Media Center located at 2201 N. Locust, Wahoo, Nebraska. Publicized notice was given by publication in the Wahoo Newspaper on April 14, 2010.

The meeting was called to order by President Rob Brigham with the following board members answering roll call: Al Grandgenett, Rob Miller, John Sutton, Steve Vrana, Mary Ann Tingelhoff and Rob Brigham. Also present were Superintendent, Edward Rastovski; Secretary, Kris Pokorny; High School Principal, Chris Arent; Elementary Principal, Jane Wiebold; Curriculum Coordinator, Sue Heine; Special Education Director, Heidi Hoffmann; Guest and upcoming superintendent, Galen Boldt; a District Patron, WEA representative; Close Up Presenters, Chloe Davidson and Carlie Jonas and teacher, Mr. Ryan Mueller and the newspaper reporter.

Principal/AD, Mr. Libal was absent due to scheduled activity.

It was moved by Sutton seconded by Grandgenett to approve the agenda. On roll call vote all members present voted yes. Motion carried.

A motion was made by Tingelhoff, seconded by Vrana to approve the March meeting minutes and the April claims as presented. On roll call vote all members present voted yes. Motion carried.

## -BILLS-

The board reviewed the account funds and balances related to the routine business of the school district pertaining to the accounts the district controls.

The Principal, Curriculum Coordinator, Special Education Director and the Superintendent all gave informational reports to the board.

The board went over the communications items in the packet.

Chloe Davidson and Carlie Jonas came, along with teacher representative Mr. Ryan Mueller, and spoke on the Close Up trip. Mr. Mueller thanked the board for the support they have given to the Close Up program.

A motion was made by Tingelhoff, seconded by Grandgenett to accept the Resolution to Approve Freeholder Petition, Whereas petitioners, Fern Jansa, Linda Semrad, Joyce Kufera and William Semrad, Roland & Adelyne Koranda and

Janet Koranda, Lawrence & Margaret Mach and Marvin & Adelyne Woita, Mark & Julia Urban and Raymond Jr. & Ruby Urban, Darwin & Sharon Vermeline, Wayne and Marian Vermeline, Leon & Patty Vermeline, Donald & Norma Veskrna and Michael Veskrna, Fred & Kathleen Vrana and Ben Vrana and Millie & Eugene Kros and Donald Kros have submitted a petition to the Board of Education of Wahoo Public Schools pursuant to the provisions of NEB.REV.STAT. 79-458 seeking to transfer certain property located within the boundaries of Prague Public Schools, also known as School District No. 78-0104 of Saunders County, into School District No. 78-039, also known as Wahoo Public Schools full resolution available for viewing at the District office. On roll call vote all members present voted yes. Motion carried.

A motion was made by Sutton, seconded by Miller to approve the resignations of Elementary teachers, Jeanette Goodding, Monica Smith and Jacqueline Morgan and High School teacher Virginia Hildebrand. On roll call vote all members present voted yes. Motion carried.

It was recommended by Mrs. Wiebold to hire Andrea Voboril-Beaver for the Kindergarten position, Lisa Haberberger for the first grade position, Kaitlyn Pfeiffer for a second grade position, Megan Shada for a second grade position and Kim Thraser for the fifth grade position. Heidi Hoffmann recommended the hire of Bridgett Dobesh for the Elementary Resource position and Michelle Wilt for the Middle School Special Education position. Mr. Arent recommended the hiring of Allison Kreifels for the 8-12 Family and consumer Science position and Andrea Mann for the 9-12 Language Arts position. A motion was made by Tingelhoff seconded by Sutton to approve the hiring of the above teachers. On roll call vote all members present voted yes. Motion carried.

The next regular board meeting will be held on Monday, May 17, 2010 at 6:00 in the High School Media Center located at 2201 N. Locust.

The following requests were made for the May meeting:

- A. Award of Construction Contracts
- B. Personnel Resignations/hiring
- C. Negotiations

A motion was made to adjourn the meeting by Tingelhoff, seconded by Grandgenett. On roll call vote all members present voted yes. Motion carried.

The meeting was adjourned at 8:00 p.m. by President Rob Brigham.

Al Grandgenett Secretary