Regular Meeting Minutes School District #39

January 17, 2011

The Wahoo Board of Education met in regular session on Monday evening, January 17, 2011 at 6:00 p.m. in the Wahoo High School Media Center located at 2201 N Locust Street, Wahoo, Nebraska. Publicized notice was given by publication in the Wahoo Newspaper on January 12, 2011.

The regular meeting was opened by President Rob Brigham with the following board members answering roll call: Rob Miller, John Sutton, Steve Vrana, MaryAnn Tingelhoff and Rob Brigham. Also present were superintendent, Galen Boldt; secretary, Kris Pokorny; Principals, Jane Wiebold, Chris Arent and Jason Libal; Director of Learning, Susan Heine; Special Education Director, Shelley Maass; the newspaper reporter and the WEA Representative.

A motion was made by Tingelhoff, seconded by Vrana to excuse Al Grandgenett from the meeting. On roll call vote all members present voted yes. Motion carried.

A motion was made by Tingelhoff, seconded by Miller to approve the agenda with the edition of the special education report and adding a wrestling mat purchase to the agenda. On roll call vote all members present voted yes. Motion carried.

A motion was made by Miller, seconded by Tingelhoff to approve the minutes of the December 20th, 2010 regular meeting. On roll call vote all members present voted yes. Motion carried.

Superintendent Boldt thanked the two members, Al Grandgenett and Rob Miller for their years of service to the Wahoo Public School Board of Education.

New board members, Eric Gottschalk and Brett Eddie were welcomed and all board members took the Oath of Office.

Board members present on roll call, Rob Brigham, Brett Eddie, Eric Gottschalk, John Sutton, Steve Vrana and Mary Ann Tinglehoff.

It was moved by Tinglehoff, seconded by Sutton to elect the slate of officers as listed, Rob Brigham, President; John Sutton, Vice President; Steve Vrana, Treasurer and Mary Ann Tingelhoff, Secretary. On roll call vote all members present voted yes. Motion carried. These positions are to be held for a two year term.

- BILLS –

A motion was made by Vrana, seconded by Tingelhoff to accept and pay the Januaray claims as presented with the exception of the DLR claim. On roll call vote all members present voted yes. Motion carried.

It was moved by Tinglehoff, seconded by Vrana to approve payment of the January DLR claim. On roll call vote, Tingelhoff, yes; Brigham, abstain; Eddie, yes; Gottshcalk, yes; Sutton, yes; and Vrana, yes. Motion carried.

The board reviewed the account funds and balances related to the routine business of the school district pertaining to the accounts the district controls.

The Principals, Director of Learning, Special Education Director and Superintendent gave informational reports to the board.

No action was needed on the Report to Shareholders; the final copy will be edited and then distributed.

No action was taken on the 23rd Street Project.

A motion was made by Tinglehoff, seconded by Sutton to approve the purchase of a Dollamur Wrestling Mat for \$6,700. On roll call vote all members present voted yes. Motion carried.

The performance Art/Learning center construction is on schedule.

After a recommendation from the Superintendent, It was moved by Vrana, seconded by Tinglehoff to approve the resignation of Elementary/Middle School Spanish teacher, Michelle Jura, effective March 1, 2011. On roll call vote all members present voted yes. Motion carried.

The following requests were made for the February meeting:

- A. School Calendar for 2011-2012
- B. Board Representation at Graduation
- C. Facilities Projects/Report and Financing Review
- D. Personnel Resignations/hiring
- E. Board of Education Committees
- F. 23rd Street Project
- G. Board Policy on Facility Usage

Sutton moved, seconded by Gottschalk to adjourn the meeting at 8:30 p.m. On roll call vote all members present voted yes. Motion carried.

Notice: The next regular board meeting will be held on Monday, February 21st at 6:00 p. m. in the High School Media Center located at 2201 N. Locust.

Mary Ann Tingelhoff Secretary

Ι