## Regular Meeting Minutes School District #39

May 17, 2010

The Wahoo Board of Education met in regular session on Monday evening, May 17, 2010 at 6.00 p.m. in the High School Media Center located at 2201 N. Locust, Wahoo, Nebraska. Publicized notice was given by publication in the Wahoo Newspaper on May12, 2010.

The meeting was called to order by President Rob Brigham with the following board members answering roll call: Rob Brigham, Al Grandgenett, Rob Miller, John Sutton, Steve Vrana and Mary Ann Tingelhoff. Also present were Superintendent, Edward Rastovski; Secretary, Kris Pokorny; Elementary Principal, Jane Wiebold; Middle School Principal/Athletic Director, Jason Libal; High School Principal, Chris Arent; Curriculum Coordinator, Sue Heine; Special Education Director, Heidi Hoffmann; WEA representative, a few staff members and the Newspaper Reporter.

It was moved by Miller, seconded by Grandgenett to approve the agenda. On roll call vote all members present voted yes. Motion carried.

A motion was made by Sutton, seconded by Vrana to approve the April meeting minutes and May claims as presented. On roll call vote all members present voted yes. Motion carried.

## -BILLS-

The board reviewed the account funds and balances related to the routine business of the school district pertaining to the accounts the district controls.

The Principals, Curriculum Coordinator, Special Education Director and the Superintendent all gave informational reports to the board.

The board went over the communications items in the packet.

Sue Heine and Chris Arent discussed the High School Assessment Report, no action needed.

A motion was made by Grandgenett, seconded by Miller to proceed with the base bid on the Wahoo High School Learning Center and all the alternates from Meyers-Carlilsle-Leapley for \$3,816,780, additionally the superintendent has the option to review the alternate bids for the seating. On roll call all members present voted yes. Motion carried.

It was moved by Miller, seconded by Sutton to approve the bids from Johnson Controls for \$9,610 for the updating and converting of the computer controls for

heating and air conditioning units and McQuay Air conditioning for \$43,593 to provide and install Soft Start for 3 compressor Starters on the High School Chiller. On roll call vote all members present voted yes. Motion carried.

A motion was made by Grandgenett, seconded by Sutton to authorize the Administration to establish a trust based Health Reimbursement Arrangement (HRA) in the name of the Employer. On roll call vote all members present voted yes. Motion carried.

It was moved by Sutton, seconded by Vrana to enter into an agreement with the Wahoo Public Library Board of trustees to provide reduced fee library cards to those Wahoo Public School students (K-8) who reside outside of the city limits of Wahoo and are required to pay for a library card. All students who attend summer school will receive a card. On roll call vote all members present voted yes. Motion carried.

A motion was made by Tingelhoff, seconded by Grandgenett to approve the hiring of K-8 Spanish teacher Michelle Wells, contingent upon receiving Cass Griffen's letter of resignation; this is for a one year contract. On roll call vote all members present voted yes. Motion carried.

It was recommended by Chris Arent to hire Rebecca Kempkes for the High School Science position. A motion was made by Tingelhoff, seconded by Vrana to approve the hiring. On roll call vote all members present voted yes. Motion carried.

The following requests were made for the June meeting:

- A. School Lunch Prices
- B. Facilities Project Status Report
- C. Walk Through Facilities
- E. Personnel Resignations/hiring

A motion was made to adjourn the meeting by Sutton, seconded by Grandgenett. On roll call vote all members present voted yes. Motion carried.

The meeting was adjourned at 7:55 p.m. by President Rob Brigham.

The next regular board meeting will be held on Monday, June 14<sup>th</sup> at 6:00 p.m. in the High School Media Center located at 2201 N. Locust, Wahoo, Nebraska.

Mary Ann Tingelhoff Secretary