Regular Meeting Minutes School District #39

January 16, 2023

The Wahoo Public School Board of Education met in regular session on Monday, January 16, 2023 at 6:00 p.m. in the High School Media Center located at 2201 N. Locust, Wahoo, Nebraska. Publicized notice was given by advertising the meeting in the Wahoo Newspaper on January 11, 2023 and on the school's website and doors.

The meeting was opened by Superintendent Lavaley. After the election of the Board officers, President elect, Brett Eddie presided over the meeting with the following board members answering roll call: Brett Eddie, Bob Sullivan, Mike Hancock, Diana Pfeiffer, Alex Shada and Renae Feilmeier. Also present were Superintendent, Brandon Lavaley, Secretary, Kris Pokorny; Middle School Principal, Marc Kaminski; High School Principal, Vernon Gollady; Elementary Principal, Ben Kreifels; Director of Student Services, Shelley Maass; Director of Learning, Josh Snyder; and a couple of local patrons and staff.

Athletic Director/Asst. Principal, Robert Barry was absent due to running an athletic event.

The open meetings law was mentioned and the open meetings law poster is displayed and attached.

The Board of Education said the Pledge of Allegiance.

New Board members Diana Pfeiffer and Bob Sullivan took the oath of office.

The Board conducted elections for officers.

A motion was made by Shada, seconded by Feilmeier to elect Brett Eddie as President. On roll call vote Shada, yes; Feilmeier, yes; Sullivan, yes; Hancock, yes; Eddie, abstain; and Pfeiffer, yes. Motion carried.

It was moved by Pfeiffer, seconded by Hancock to elect Bob Sullivan as Vice President. On roll call vote Pfeiffer, yes; Shada, yes; Feilmeier, yes; Sullivan, abstain; Hancock yes; and Eddie, yes. Motion carried.

A motion was made by Shada, seconded by Sullivan to elect Mike Hancock as the Board Secretary. On roll call vote, Shada, yes; Feilmeier, yes; Eddie, yes; Sullivan, yes; Hancock, abstain; and Pfeiffer, yes. Motion carried.

It was moved by Feilmeier, seconded by Hancock to elect Alex Shada as the Board Treasurer. On roll call vote Feilmeier, yes; Eddie, yes; Sullivan, yes; Hancock, yes; Pfeiffer, yes; and Shada, abstain. Motion carried.

The Board of Education officers for 2023 are Brett Eddie, President; Bob Sullivan, Vice President; Mike Hancock, Secretary; and Alex Shada, Treasurer. Diana Pfeiffer and Renae Fielmeier are board members.

A motion was made by Shada, seconded by Feilmeier to approve the agenda. On roll call vote all members present voted yes. Motion carried.

A motion was made by Feilmeier, seconded by Hancock to approve the regular meeting minutes of December 19, 2022. On roll call vote Feilmeier, yes; Eddie, yes; Sullivan, abstain; Hancock, yes; Pfeiffer, yes; and Shada, yes. Motion carried.

A motion was made by Hancock, seconded by Shada to approve payment of the January 2023 claims as submitted with the exception of the Eddie Lawn Service claim. On roll call vote all members present voted yes. Motion carried.

It was moved by Hancock, seconded by Sulllivan to approve payment of the Eddie Lawn service claim in the amount of \$7,300.00. On roll call vote, Hancock, yes; Pfeiffer, yes; Shada, yes; Feilmeier, yes; Eddie, abstain; and Sullivan, yes. Motion carried.

The board reviewed the account funds and balances related to the routine business of the school district pertaining to the accounts the district controls.

Administrators gave their board reports. The Administrators introduced themselves to the newest board members.

During the Audience Comments section of the agenda Joe Egler and Bob Bartek spoke.

A motion was made by Sullivan, seconded by Hancock to approve the President and Treasurer as the bank signatories. On roll call vote all members present voted yes. Motion carried.

It was moved by Feilmeier, seconded by Hancock, to appoint Brandon Lavaley and Kris Pokorny as authorized representative of the district to sign paperwork and contracts. On roll call vote all members present voted yes. Motion carried.

A motion was made by Feilmeier, seconded by Hancock, to approve the GMPI presented by MCL, upon the revisions and approval of the committee members involved, as discussed for the components of the budget line items for the construction project. On roll call vote all members present voted yes. Motion carried.

It was moved by Hancock, seconded by Shada to adopt the lease renewal resolution as presented. On roll call vote all members present voted yes. Motion carried.

A motion was made by Shada, seconded by Feilmeier to accept with regrets the resignations of Pam Trutna and Kendra Weber at the end of the 2022-2023 school year. On roll call vote all members present voted yes. Motion carried.

The following requests were made for the February meeting.

- A. District Report card
- B. Board Committee assignments
- C. Policies
- D. 2023 -2024 School Calendar
- E. Building Projects
- F. Personnel resignations/hiring's

A motion was made by Hancock, seconded by Hancock to adjourn the meeting. Motion carried. Meeting was adjourned at 7:41 p.m.

The next regular meeting will be held on Monday, February 20, 2023.

Mike Hancock Secretary